Centers of Excellence

Awards and Accolades - 2012



P. David Adelson, MD, FACS, FAAP was elected to the American Academy of Neurological Surgery (AANS) and as one of the Top Doctors in Best Doctors in America (top 1%). Dr. Adelson planned and organized the comprehensive, cutting edge 16th Annual Children’s Neuroscience Symposium, in Scottsdale, AZ, March 8 to 9, 2012.

Dr. Robin Blitz

Robin Blitz, MD, FAAP, was named among the 2012 Phoenix Super Doctors.

Dr. Veronica Bordes-Edgar

Veronica Bordes-Edgar, PhD, served at the Children’s Oncology Group Behavioral Science Committee and Protocol ALTE07C1 Working Group as a Behavioral Science Monitor.

Dr. Cristina Carballo

Cristina Carballo, MD, Medical Director of the Neuro NICU at Phoenix Children’s Hospital, was named in Best Doctors in America.

Dr. Kerrigan

John F. Kerrigan, MD, is a member of the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE), Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery Workgroup and president of the Medical Advisory Board for Hope for Hypothalamic Hamartoma Foundation.

Dr. Kara Stuart-Lewis

Kara Stuart-Lewis, MD, was named in Best Doctors in America, for Pediatric Neurology.

Dr. Troester

Matthew Troester, DO, was named as Top Doc in Phoenix Magazine.

Dr. Marcy Yonker

Marcy Yonker, MD, FAHS, was named as Top Doc in Phoenix Magazine and is a Fellow of the American Headache Society.

Jeffrey Buchhalter, MD, PhD, FAAN, Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children¹s Hospital is currently involved in planning and presenting two high profile conferences: He is the co-director of the Partners Against Mortality in Epilepsy Conference ( in Evanston, Ill. June 21 to 24. The International Symposium on Dietary Therapies for Epilepsy and Other Neurological Diseases ( in Chicago, Ill. Sept. 19 to 22. Dr. Buchhalter serves on the Scientific Advisory Board for the Charlie Foundation and is also a member of the Advisory Board for this meeting.

Share this page: